balance of theory and practical sessions
  • Neil Dennis
  • Technical Director - AECOM Australia Pty Ltd

Neil’s professional background spans over 40 years’ experience as a designer and safety advisor for industries with a range of explosion hazards. 

Neil has been an active member of Australian Standards committees for hazardous areas since 1992 and International Electrotechnical Commission committees since 2000.

His roles have included that as chair of Australian Standards committees, chair of IEC subcommittee for the classification and installations for hazardous areas and active membership in numerous working groups in both forums. 


In more recent years Neil has been appointed as liaison from the standards committees related to hazardous areas to other standards committees in the IEC and ISO including refrigeration systems and hydrogen systems.